Stage One: Picking destinations

image

If you are anything like me you can be a little indecisive,  it is not a bad thing to be but it can be restricting to say the least. When it was first suggested that I should consider South East Asia, I can’t say I was over the moon about the idea; recently I discovered that I have developed creature comforts and that this made me afraid to travel in real foreign countries (non European). But since having this revelation I have made it my purpose to push my boundaries… fortunate enough I have a wonderful boyfriend who is going to come with me and possibly hold my hand when I need it.

After I had my revelation I then got down to the nitty gritty stuff (the destination!) Embarssingly I had no idea where to start researching…so I picked the brains of people I knew; I have come to discover that doing this helps you hugely as it gives you an idea about what you are looking for when you travel. I want to see monuments, nature, experience new types of cuisine and activites plus I also want to lay down and relax on a beach once in awhile. Luckily asia has plenty of these things, but it did narrow down my selection; I started looking at all the main cities first. I read reviews on trip advisor about, Kuala Lumpar, Bangkok and Phuket as these were the only main cities I knew by name. Then I took the next step and purchased a Lonely Planet book on South East Asia (on a shoe string budget), you don’t need to buy the book but you can go into the library and take it out. This guide is perfect for me because it was a breakdown of cities and towns and that was just what I needed; after reading throughly through this book I started to get a list of places I potentially wanted to visit.

image

Currently the countries I plan to visit are:
-Malaysia: Kuala Lumpar, Borneo, Sarawak and Sabah
-Thailand: Phuket, Chaing Mai, Bangkok and Koh Chang
-Myanmar: Yangon, Mandalay, Inle Lake and Bagan
-Vietnam: Ho Chi Minh, Hanoi, Halong Bay and Cat Tien

It took me over 2 weeks just to discover certain places but I thought these places were a good place to start! I hope you are just as excited as I am to plan this adventure, if you have travelled to these places before please leave me some advice below; I would love to get recommendations!

Thank you Bucket List.

3 thoughts on “Stage One: Picking destinations

  1. Exciting! You are going to have an amazing time!! Of those places I’ve been to Kuala Lumpar, Phuket, Chaing Mai, Bangkok, Hanoi, HCM and Ha Long Bay (the vietnam trip is detailed on my blog) the others have a few sporadic posts but nothing too indepth except for my dissapointment at not seeing monkeys at Batu caves just out of KL! Let me know if you have any questions I’d be happy to try and remember the answers for you!

Leave a Reply

