Dear Thailand…With Love

2015-02-28 17.14.59

Dear Thailand,

I came to visit you on the 5th of February, what can I say after visiting Malaysia before hand I was a bit apprehensive about what you would be like. Even though I liked Malaysia’s metropolis cities and quiet islands of the coast, it just lacked something that I was craving. It was also quite dirty and I ended up smelling like garbage at the end of the day. So I hope you understand why I was cautious about coming to see you, as you are close relatives with Malaysia.

Never fear I stand corrected, you Thailand are an amazing country and I am glad to have visited you for a month. What can I say about you Thailand, your people are friendly and it does make up for the pushy ones in Bangkok. Your large cities flow with locals and tourist all morphing together making it one great ride. Though I think those Tuk Tuk drives need to calm down, not everyone wants to go to a tailor or jeweller. It feels like there are temples around every corner, one more beautiful and grand than the next.

2015-02-28 17.14.09

Now the little island off Krabi, Koh Lanta is a really nice sleepy town. It reminded me a little bit of our small beach towns back home, it still had the hussle and bussle in the centre; but you could seriously blob out here and I did it soooo well.

But Thailand my real soft spot of your country is Chiang Mai. I could seriously live here, it had everything I needed and a little bit of adventure just to throw it in. I loved the Elephant Nature Park north of Chiang Mai and the fact we meet the owner was even more incriedable! Chiang Mai was so relaxed and easy to navigate, that we did lots of exploring through your side streets.

2015-02-28 17.15.28

Then just to top it off I ventured in Pai, to get there was quite windy and I just manage not vom everywhere because the driver was being cautious. But when we go to Pai it was like, YES! a few days here to get my zen on and then I can leave Thailand with a big fat smile on my face. Pai was the icing on the cake for me, we got a really great place to stay at such a cheap price, all thanks to someone in the street recommending it to us. Its not even on Trip Advisor and I can’t understand why?! Food, Markets, Waterfalls the list goes on for chilled out activities in this hippy like town.

I will miss you Thailand, but not to worry I think I can rope a few friends in to coming back with me.

Take care and look after yourself and your Elephants.

Much love,

Zoe

One thought on “Dear Thailand…With Love

  1. I loved this post! I really hope I get to go to the places you have spoken about one day; they sound amazing. So pleased you are still having a good time!! Excited to see more of your travels XX

Leave a Reply

