Free Your Inbox!

46

Ever since I started blogging I have found that I am a hoarder of free courses. Recently I was looking through my email subscription and it became quite obvious that I had a problem, this addicted I realised also was creating other problems as well.

In a society that has instant access to information it can get a little bit overwhelming, sometimes many of us can stress out about what to do as we have read too many opinions and can’t decide on our own.

When I was scrolling through my subscription I noticed a pattern, I had signed up to quite a lot of business related subscriptions that would help me with my blog (surprised?). What also was interesting was that each subscription was so similar that it was a bit ridiculous. Who needs to have 4 email subscriptions on how to make you blog photos look professional?!

So after that I made a decision that enough is enough, it was my own personal email culling time. But where did I start you say? Well it was more that I needed to read all of the email subscriptions and this means reading every fricken email and seeing if it applies to your current situation of work or life. DO YOU KNOW HOW HARD THAT WAS?! I am pretty sure I almost threw my laptop out the apartment window, it was frustrating and time consuming where I could have been doing something else more fun or productive. But you know what, I was sick and tired of going into my email and seeing all these bloody subscriptions filling my inbox. After awhile it became depressing for me to even open email and that my friend is not healthy at all.

Allowing all the electronic clutter to ruin your mental state is not right, it like when you walk your room only to discover everything is dirty and/or broken and all you needed to do was to tidy up. So it was out with the unwanted and in with the organisation.

Free courses are addictive, why not sign up to a free course where you can learn how to make a paper plane? *only example I could think of that is irrelevant*. What we should be doing is using our noggins, having prompt questions like “am I really going to read this?” “will this actually be helping for my ___?”.

I have found that these prompts have helped stop impulsive signing up to pointless courses. By delaying the initial reaction to click sign up, asking helps you decide for yourself whether you need it or not. Worst comes to worst save the webpage and go back to it an hour later, ask the same prompt questions and see if you still feel the urge to click. If its still there then click my friend because obviously this is going to help you in some way, whether its for inspirational or practical purposes.

After reading all my email subscriptions, I unsubscribed to half of them. Yip you read that right HALF, blimey I complied a lot of useless crap. As there was over 15 subscriptions I wanted to cancel, I used Unroll.Me it is a really helpful with mass unsubscribe. Now I am happy to look back in my inbox and see the world again, or more like what I have brought…

Did I miss anything out? Do you know of some other helpful tips that might help other waywards? Make sure you comment below or head over to my twitter and use the #TWP.

Much love and magic,

Zoe

 

Image by Startup Stock Photos

Leave a Reply

