Bodiam Castle

20160828_161022

Another long weekend, another staycation. I know most of you would have used your long weekend to hope somewhere more tropical, or just another country in general; I know that is the beauty of living in Europe. However for me at the moment I am taking the chance to explore England, if you have seen my social media, you would definitely have picked up on the fact that I am a big castle fan. I get that some people find castles boring, after a while they all start to “look the same”; but for me it is pure enjoyment every time I visit one. I have fond memories from my late teens heading around Germany looking at some amazing castles and my poor uncle ending up being like “oh not another bloody castle”… Well my Waywards I hate to break it to you, but this post is going to be a “Castle” post. If this is not your cup of tea, click on one of my categories to your right and pick another post to read or better yet message me and let me know if there is something you want me to write about?!

So lets get down to the facts: Bodiam Castle “is a 14th-century moated castle near Robertsbridge in East Sussex, England. It was built in 1385 by Sir Edward Dalyngrigge, a former knight of Edward III, with the permission of Richard II, ostensibly to defend the area against French invasion during the Hundred Years’ War”.

Unlike other castles such as Windsor, Bodiam Castle is a ruin. So don’t expect much when you walk inside; the staff have signposted areas where you can imagine what the castle would have looked when it was in its prime. What I loved about this castle is that it was in a middle of a moat, with massive koi swimming around and ducks fighting with the koi for the bread, as the tourists were feeding them.

 20160828_153217_HDR

While we were at the top of one of the towers, we happened to see a steam train! You never know what you are going to discover on top of a castle?! There was also a few traditional market stalls and a small stall where you could do archery, a lot of these stall were dedicated to families, but it was just as much fun browsing.

I really loved my little day adventure, I packed a small lunch and had an ice cream on the lawn outside the castle; not a typical day for anyone really. Even though autumn is descending upon us, I am excited to go see a few more castles before winter fully sets in! So don’t be surprised if my next few posts might be castle reviews…

To chasing castles,

Zoe

Leave a comment